What Is the Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Kentucky?
If you have been injured because of someone else’s negligence, it is important to file a claim in a timely manner. Each state has enacted a time limit, known as the statute of limitations, for personal injury claims. This is designed to help prevent evidence from becoming corroded, and it also protects defendants from the threat of a lawsuit for decades after an incident. Our firm will pay attention to the timeline of your case and walk you through the legal process as you seek compensation.
Understanding the Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Kentucky
In the state of Kentucky, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 1 year. This means you only have 1 year to file a claim from the date of your injury. If you don’t file a claim within this deadline, you may be unable to receive a settlement. That is why it is crucial to file a personal injury claim as soon as possible after an accident.
Depending on the situation, you may be able to receive a settlement for lost wages, medical expenses, disability, pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment of life, emotional distress, and other damages. Furthermore, you may be entitled to punitive damages, which are designed to punish a defendant for egregious behavior or gross negligence. Since there may be some exceptions to the 1-year rule, it is important to talk with our lawyers to understand your options.
If you or a loved one have been wrongfully injured, it is important to contact Goeing Goeing & McQuinn PLLC today. Our Lexington personal injury attorneys will work tirelessly to build your case and uphold your right to compensation. We offer free consultations for your convenience.